Watch Afterlight Now

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

We consider it an amazing privilege that we get to create such a wide variety of projects. We love shooting music videos, commercials, documentaries, and live concerts; however, our very favourite projects are fictional stories that the whole family can sit down and watch together. Sarah & Rew (the owners and creative leads of Checkered Owl Media) have 5 kids and we understand how important it is to have content you can all settle into together.

That’s why we created and wrote Afterlight. Thanks to an amazing grant program Called STORYHIVE we were able to co-produce (with L&C Style in Calgary) a pilot of the show, with Rew directing. We have been thrilled with the response online and are now looking at our options to continue the story! Cast & Crew are listed below.



Anne – Kathryn Kozody
Alvin – Chris Hills
Corn Farmer – Dale Dryer
Const. Gerrard – Eliza Sorensen
Macy – Journey González
Myles – Troy Lydiate
Mrs. Campbell – Monica Benning
Mr. Campbell – Mike O’Connor
Sam – Connor Mullen
Taylor – Laura Seabrook
Todd – Erik Gault
Olivia Gerrard – Lilah Jones
Young Woman – Amy Jean
Maggie – Joy Dunn
Councilman Doug – Wade Flemming
Frustrated Lady – Sarah Jones
Arrogant Man – Jason Wood
Concerned Citizen –  Sylvester Freedman
Councilman Rose – Florence Maddren
Concerned Neighbour – Beth Enderson

Created & Written by Sarah & Rew Jones
Director/Producer – Rew Jones
Producer – Candace Schmidt
Director of Photography – Jose Luis Gonzalez
Composer – Luke Dowler
First AD – Patrick O’Connor
Gaffer – Chris Beauchamp
Second AC – Laura Beauchamp
Grip – Jake Riddell
Editor – Jose Luis Gonzalez
Production Designer – Sarah Jones
Sound Mixer -Ian Armstrong
Foley Artist – Stephen Ryzuk
VFX – Patrick O’Connor
PA – Laryn Gilmour
PA – Mikey Blue Shoes
PA – Lilah Jones
Dog Wrangler – Alan Jones
Behind The Scenes – Michael Bouree

Special Thanks:
STORYHIVE, NSI, The Town Of Sexsmith, The Sexsmith Historical Society, Ava Karvonen, Rudy Thauberger, Peace River Bible Insititute, ATCO Electric, Harold’s Towing, Jennifer Johner, Marny & Vaughn Kenney, Sheena Jones, Paradise Inn & Conference Centre, Pita Pit, Les Tunke